Skip to Content


2017 Science Showcase Competition

Meet the winners of the 2017 Science Showcase Video Contest!

Most Awesome Science Video

The 2017 Most Awesome Science Video Award (selected by our awesome panel of guest judges) goes to Matt Wilkins and Tyler Corey at the School of Biological Sciences, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, for their video Pygids!

Congratulations to Matt and Tyler for an awesome video! As well as bragging rights of winning the prize, they will be getting $2,000 in prize money, and a one-off a unique 2017 Science Showcase Video Contest clapperboard!

Honorable Mentions

We had some fantastic videos that were shortlisted for the top prize. In the end, it came down to a choice between Pygids and nine other videos:

Eyeballs on Science Award

The Eyeballs on Science award, given to the video that attracted the most views between September 1 and September 30, goes to Kate Bredbenner of Rockefeller University for her video Tanning Without the Sun.

Congratulations to Kate for a great video. Kate is host of the YouTube channel SimpleBiologist, and we’d strongly encourage you to pay her a visit there! She’ll also being receiving a $1,000 award, and a unique 2017 Science Showcase Video Contest clapperboard!

Director’s Choice Award

The Director’s Choice Award goes to the video that Science Showcase Director Andrew Maynard personally felt exemplified the spirit of the contest — and hadn’t already scarfed up another award! And this year, it goes to … Emily Zawacki of Arizona State University and her video Why are the Rocks of Sedona, Arizona Red?

Huge congratulations to Emily! She’ll be receiving $500, and a 2017 Science Showcase Video Contest clapperboard!

Honorable Mentions

This was a really tough category to award, as there were some many videos that showed real talent and promise. Here, we would like to highlight three in particular that caught Andrew’s eye – not because they got hundreds of views or were really polished, but because they showed promise for future fantastic science content on YouTube. These include:


Many thanks to our four guest judges — Adam Dylewski, Cat Allman, Richard Harris and Vanessa Hill. And to our sponsors – Arizona State University’s Fulton Schools of Engineering, School of Earth and Space Exploration, and Risk Innovation Lab!

And finally …

This was such a great group of videos that we’d love to give them all a prize — each and every creator should be proud of what they created! You can still give them props by watching and sharing their videos on Science Showcase.

In the meantime, stay tuned for next years contest – we’ll be launching it around June 2019!